Board of Directors

General Election Results

IMPACT Community Action held a Governing Board Election on Tuesday, March 28, 2017 to fill three vacancies on its Board of Directors to represent the low-income sector in the following geographical areas in Columbus and Franklin County: Southwest, Northeast and Near East communities.

The top finisher in each sector will serve on the Governing Board and the runner-up in each sector will serve on the Advisory Board.

Meet the New Governing Board Members

Southwest Sector

Northeast Sector

Near East Sector

Meet the New Advisory Board Members


IMPACT has a tri-partite board made up of three equal numbers of private sector, public sector and democratically-elected low-income representatives. The Governing Board members are responsible for policy, governance, and strategic oversight of IMPACT Community Action. As such, each board member has a fiduciary responsibility to the organization to ensure it is managed properly and has sufficient resources to deliver programs and services effectively to low-income residents of Franklin County. The Chief Executive Officer of IMPACT Community Action reports to the Governing Board Members.

The Advisory Board members support the work of the Governing Board by serving on one of the Governing Board subcommittees. The role of an advisory board member is to provide additional insight, expertise and advocacy in shaping the programs and services of IMPACT Community Action. Advisory Board members will work directly with Governing Board members and staff to ensure that IMPACT Community Action remains fiscally sound, is well managed, and continues to provide relevant and effective programs and services.

  • Community Sector Board Members

    Pastor Dalyn Dunn, NearEast Sector
    Ms. Maude Hill, West Sector
    Ms. Glynis Jackson, Southeast Sector
    Ms. Pamela D. Palmer, Southwest Sector
    Mr. Lamar Peoples II, Northeast Sector
    Ms. Sharyn Rigsbee, North Central Sector
    Mr. Kenneth G. Ruffin, Northwest Sector

  • Private Sector Board Members

    Mr. Cecil Jones, Board Chair, Acceleration Services
    Mr. Henry Davis, Board Treasurer, Nationwide Insurance
    Ms. Ann Healy, Woodforest National Bank
    Mr. Marc Mast, Huntington Investment Company
    Mr. Jon Moorehead, H.C. Bland Realty Company
    Ms. Peggy I. Simmons, Board Secretary, AEP Ohio

  • Public Sector Board Members

    Ms. Joy Bivens, Franklin County Job and Family Services
    Mr. Eric L. Brandon, City of Columbus, Recreation and Parks
    Dr. Robert O.E. Keyes, Board Vice Chair, Dept. of Public Safety, City of Gahanna
    Mr. Ashon L. McKenzie, Ohio Senate Democratic Caucus
    Mr. Ernest Perry, Hands On Central Ohio
    Mr. Matthew Smydo, Education Policy, City of Columbus
    Mrs. Carla Williams-Scott, Department of Neighborhoods, City of Columbus

  • Advisory Board Representatives

    Ms. Jennifer Criswell, G6 Hospitality
    Ms. Valerie Johnson, Franklin County Job & Family Services
    Ms. Patrica A. Powell (retired), President of Peace Keepers Block Watch
    Ms. Keena Smith, Workforce & Economic Development, City of Columbus
    Mrs. Angela Wright. Huntington National Bank

    Mr. Larry Price, Larry Price & Associates (Board Consultant)

Board meetings are held bi-monthly on the fourth Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. at IMPACT Community Action. 

  • 2017 board meetings are scheduled for January/February, April, June, August, October and December.  

Community Sector Representation

Being the Best Community Action Board

Being the Best Community Action Board:

An Eight-Session Discussion on Effective Board Service

Board of Directors eligibility criteria and links to Board Candidate documents are listed below (scroll down).

Unit 1 - Overview
Unit 2 - Organized to Lead
Unit 3 - Setting the Course
Unit 4 - The Board-Executive Relationship
Unit 5 - Getting It Done
Unit 6 - Financial Oversight
Unit 7 - Program Oversight
Unit 8 - Administrative Oversight